Georgia Auto Insurance Requirements, Laws, Minimums
What are the mandatory auto insurance laws for vehicles in the state of GA?
Pay close attention because ignoring these Georgia car insurance laws can get you in deep trouble including, fines, suspension & even imprisonment.
- All drivers must carry accident liability insurance for all vehicles they own.
- The minimum coverage you may carry in order to satisfy Georgia law is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury (2 or more people), and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
Are there ever any exemptions for having to have car insurance in GA?
Exemptions for not having Georgia auto insurance include:
- Terminated vehicle lease.
- Vehicle was repossessed, stolen, or not driven because it was inoperable
- Vehicle was wrecked, salvaged, or junked
- Vehicle was sold or the ownership transferred
- Vehicle was stored or used seasonally for agricultural purposes
- Owner moved to another state or the ownership was transferred out of state.
If you do not qualify for one of the exemptions that are listed above then the LAW requires that you insure your vehicle.
Do I Have To Buy Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Purchasing uninsured/underinsured coverage (UN/UIM) nor Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage is not required because Georgia follows a Tort System.
However… just because it is not required does not mean that it is not a GOOD idea.
Why do many Georgia drivers invest in uninsured/underinsured and Personal Injury Protection coverage even though it isn’t required?
Simply put, it is because the Tort system holds the driver found to be responsible for the accident (and their insurance company) liable and accountable for all DAMAGES resulting from the accident.
That could mean tens of thousands of dollars, hundreds of thousands or even a million dollars in the case of a lawsuit.